Associate's vs MS

PureMushu

Hey, 

I don't know if any of you remember me.  :hi: I was here ... 2010, I think? I've posted on these forums before, generally when I'm looking for advice - I find this clan to have more experience, and helpful advice when it comes to sorting out real life. I'll take a shot here and see what I can get. Hope you don't mind.

I'm looking to break into the software development field. I have a bachelor's that is completely unrelated. But in the past few years, I've made up a lot of coursework. Won't bore you with it here, but I'll list it at the bottom in case it's relevant for your input. 

I'm trying to decide whether to pursue an Associate's of Applied Science in Computer Information Systems or a Master's of Science in Computer Science. 

Here's a big part of this before I get into anything else: I have over $80,000 in educational loans from well... big mistakes - pretty much poking around to see what I want to do in expensive schools. I'm not that employable with my background. I have expenses such as insurance, rent, food. 

AAS in CIS:

Pros: It's very close, very cheap - $300 + fees/books per class, it will be 9 classes to complete. 

Cons: It's an AAS, I'm not convinced on the quality of education, but it might be just this one class that I've taken this semester

MS in CS: 

Pros: It's an MS, it could also be 9 classes to complete, including some entry requirements depending on what they make me take.