I'm struggling with this game.

Afternine

Before I get to the meat and potatoes of this topic, I want to start by saying that I'm posting this to get other peoples insight and thoughts on the current state of affairs with runescape. This topic isn't meant to bash Jagex, nor do I wish any of the replies to do the same; but it will point out some things that I (very subjectively) feel are just not consumer friendly and are killing the original vision for this game.

So why am I struggling with this game? I've been playing my main account for a little over six years now. In that time I've seen DXP go from a "once in a great while" sort of thing, to a very common place sort of thing. We had mtx and the like when I first started; but not to the extent it exists today. It seems like any progress you make on an non-ironman account is becoming less and less meaningful. This feeling is underscored by the new fresh start worlds set to launch some time later this year (or maybe next year, I don't remember). Between all the xp bonuses and lamps, yak track rewards and now fsw, gains are nearly meaningless (to me).

To give you sort of an idea as to how much this kind of thing is affecting every day game play; aside from combat stats, and the 120s required to get the completionist cape, archeology, hunter and summoning (and even 120 summoning was gained during dxp), I have not "trained" any skills beyond 99 in the conventional way. All of that xp has been gained from bxp, lamps. This is my account today:

Spoiler

GIrFNy8.png

Agility? Haven't used anything except bxp, lamps and silverhawks. Other related stats, perhaps a little bit from Croe, but the vast majority of my non-combat xp comes from lamps and stars these days.