Lost in Translation!

Gasti21

Hello everyone, hope you are having a great day!

Today i have a game for you i did some time ago with my coworkers, the idea is really simple guess the actual movie title from a literally translated title (Original title -> Translated title (oficial translation that changed the name) -> Literally translated title (back to english by me)). 

Avoid using google since it will kill the point of the game, if nobody can guess a title i will start puting some hints, once the official title is found i will add more to keep the game going, i will focus in Spanish translations (except the 1st one) since its my native language, if you have a different native tongue as english and you remeber a movie title that is completly different to the original, translate it back to english and we will try to guess to.

The first title is: He is a ghost! (This is an official title release at the movie theater)

7 minutes ago, Hess said:

Hmmm I’m not good at this but seems like it could be fun!  I think I just need more clarity or an example

For example there is the movie Nightmare before christmas, the official translation in latin america was "El extraño mundo de Jack" and what i give you is the literal tranlation of the oficial one, so i give you "Jack´s strange world" and from that you should try to guess the original title.

I could give you a hint like "This could be a halloween or a Christmas movie" so you can have something else to work with

54 minutes ago, ExGadris said:

what era is it from? (IE early/late 2000's 90's etc...

It was released on 1999

Wait, so.. "He is a ghost!" is what you translated from the title that was given to the movie for the Spanish-speaking audience? and we're supposed to guess what the original title of this movie is for the English-speaking audience? Am I understanding this correctly?

1 hour ago, Gasti21 said:

It was released on 1999